In Need Of Guidance

Discussion in 'Fishing Chit Chat' started by TheNewGuy, Jun 25, 2019.

1. TheNewGuy

TheNewGuy Newbie

Name:
    Lavorizia Vaughn
    Boat:
    I don’t have a boat
    Hello to all, I am TheNewGuy looking for a little helpful advice as I am a novice devoted to learning. My question is simple, how do you get prepared to fish? On the surface that question sounds really stupid so let me clarify. In preparation of a fishing trip do you do research on water depth of the site and the fish swimming at the site to prepare the proper equipment. My assumption is that you guys are smart, so, of course you do. That being said it would be nice if someone could outline the steps (in numerical order if possible) to being adequately prepared to oust the tricky nature of a fish!

2. swami 805

swami 805 I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Bill
    Boat:
    sunk it
    A good way to start would be to join a local fishing club, there's got to be a few in Oakland.
    If it's the ocean you're looking at, some of the party boats will rent you everything you need and the deckhands can give you a rundown on what to do. Best way to start is to just go.

RichG, CartridgeCalls and ripped like this.
  3. TheNewGuy

TheNewGuy Newbie

Name:
    Lavorizia Vaughn
    Boat:
    I don’t have a boat
    So, when you say just go, I’m assuming you mean to just get out there and learn through experience...I’ve done this a couple times. I caught crappy with ease my first time, but the poll I was using was completely put together (rigs and all) so all I had to do is concentrate on casting and catching fish. Fast forward a year, which was just this past sat and sun, I bought my own pole, while in Tahoe for two days, completely rigged it up (thanks to some helpful YouTube videos) and caught nothing...so yea I have a little experience but was kinda curious as to how you guys assess a potential fishing site...oh and thanks for your reply swami 805!