Hard Chargin'

Fischjäger
Aug 11, 2019
PNW
Name
Andre
Boat
Stabicraft 459 Fish'r
Gents. I'm new to offshore fishing and I'm going to be pushing out of Washington mostly. I was in the WTC last weekend and it was a blast, my first time tuna fishing and holy hell I'm definitely coming back for more.

But during the tournament week there were at least 3 billfish hookups that I heard about. I have a small boat so I only have room to troll 3 rods when I'm fishing tuna. I want to run my middle rod farther back and rig it for billfish.

What rod/reel/line/lure can anyone recommend? I have been doing a lot of reading and I hear a lot about 50 wides. I just want the straight skinny. If you could only run 1 rig that you wanted to have the line cap and power for the rare Marlin up here what would you do? Hookups are so rare up here I want it to be something that is going to increase the chance of landing that fish a ton. If I could afford it I'd just run like a Penn 130 so I'd never run out of line but maybe that's bad thinking. I know this is kind of unorthodox because most of you guys are running 5+ rods and hookups are a lot more common.

I can't afford anything right now I just want to know what to keep my eye out for on eBay.

Tight lines

pacificscout

Hey! You got any frozen ice?
Jul 28, 2012
Fullerton
Name
Wally
Boat
16ft Scout EMBUSTERO
F9E86204-F9CC-40EB-B2BB-C97ABC677071.jpeg
Small boat can troll smaller gear.
Penn 113 50-80 lb mono and purple Jethead.

CartridgeCalls

100% Disabled Veteran Owned Small Business
Apr 29, 2015
Palmdale, CA
www.ebay.com
Name
Curtis Wright
Boat
Duck Hunting Kayak
Don plumb or Rick rose.

Hard Chargin'

Fischjäger
Aug 11, 2019
PNW
Name
Andre
Boat
Stabicraft 459 Fish'r
You can chase fish easier.