tunakillerjoe1

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Jul 24, 2017
San Diego, Calif
Name
Joseph Gratteau
Boat
Valco Westcoaster
Ok, This is my first year hooping, I have been diving 50 years, grabbed a bunch of bugs. Hooping has been hit or miss! SD bay, I have easy limited, (early in the season), and been skunked the last 2 times. I use fresh dinos, cut, in PVC tubes, sometimes with sardine lube or cat food. Depth shallow, or up to 60'. First soak 1.5 hours, 40 min after. Seems I have better luck with more traps, (a friend along). Any suggestions to improve? I understand all the cheap shot guys will attack my mother, my grammer, my....but
If I can get more bugs in San Diego,well, OK. Any tips? I am not a spaz, but getting skunked 2 trips has me thinking. The ocean is dominated by commercial guys, but the bay(s)? Maybe it is getting tapped out? Thanks to anyone who responds!! BD rocks!

Reactions: FloMar

ja73

Sep 1, 2017
SGV
Name
Jay
Boat
Arima SC16
We only got two last night but had lotsa laughs. It’s fishing bro, head out with High Hopes low expectations and just enjoy the evening!
Perfectly said, and bring a couple PB&J sandwiches to kill the hunger.

dktool

2459 Trophy Offshore
Aug 11, 2010
Covina, Ca.
Name
Dean
Boat
1989 Bayliner 2459 Trophy Off Shore
Sounds like you're doing it right.

As I say about so many things ....... Expect nothing and you won't be disappointed.
Get a couple keepers and you will keep going back to spin the wheel.

Reactions: castone001

Phat Boat

Apr 18, 2004
San Diego
Name
Jon
Boat
Grady White Marlin 300
Its has slowed down considerably.

DOGHOUSE26

Feb 22, 2004
Escondido, CA
Name
jeff meeker
Boat
26 Blackman Billfisher
Start trying different spots with maybe half your hoops, look for structure on your FF and place your hoops up current depending on the tide and maybe you'll find a new honey hole. Its been tough out there lately but after a couple of skunk trips it makes you appreciate those 1 or 2 bug nights a lot more!