i want to shoot an elk

Feb 4, 2010
San Diego area
Name
Jenni
Boat
Heart of Gold
I'm new to hunting but the one thing i really want to do is spot stalk an elk with my bow.... i just don't know where to go, or if i can afford it. Any suggestions? i have family in Bend, Oregon, how is elk hunting there?

Draw weight is a concern of mine too. I'm pulling about 40lbs now (but i'm practicing). What weight would i need at what range to get an ethical shot?

Upvote 0

Skip Jackson

Recovering LandLubber
Feb 7, 2003
Lakeside Trailer Park
Visit site
Name
Dave
Boat
31' Aiwych
to heck with the elk, you're killin me from right there

Upvote 0

Carl

Bridesmaid,,,,,,,Again
  • Nov 29, 2004
    San Diego
    Name
    Carl
    Boat
    everyone elses
    I'm new to hunting but the one thing i really want to do is spot stalk an elk with my bow.... i just don't know where to go, or if i can afford it. Any suggestions? i have family in Bend, Oregon, how is elk hunting there?

Draw weight is a concern of mine too. I'm pulling about 40lbs now (but i'm practicing). What weight would i need at what range to get an ethical shot?

:loverz:

Upvote 0

aeon

ugh....
    Apr 11, 2006
    foothill ranch
    Name
    Bill
    Boat
    /600hp ls3 powered Airboat
    have you killed anything with your bow yet? No is a ok answer as you might have a bit of a wait to get drawn for a elk tag. I would use the services of Nate ( el toro on this site ) to help you pick good places to send applications to. It could take a few years to get drawn for a elk tag. While you wait go out and shoot lots of things with your bow. pigs deer squirrels fish and anything you can get your hands on. By the time you get your tag you will have learned how to call elk and how to kill shit.