OCPapa

Mar 16, 2021
Irvine, CA
Name
Sam
Boat
None... yet
Hey Everyone
I'm new to boating and planning on taking my boys out to Catalina for the first time. We are planning to leave Huntington Harbor early by 5:30am and and head back before 1pm for better boating conditions.
I've got 2 questions.
1)Where is the Long Beach bait barge now? I just went out to fish the islands over there 2 days ago and the bait barge was not by the wall where I saw them last time. I guess it moves around?

2)I've got a few spots we will try near Long Point for Calico, Bonito, Barracuda and hopefully Yellowtail, but if its slow or the kids are having a tough time with fly-lining live bait I was hoping to move over to a Rock Fish/ White Fish spot and just fish with squid.
I was hoping for a few suggestions on where to go. If there are any websites that list GPS coordinates of known spots, that would be great too.

Upvote 0

Blackfish

Marble collector.
Sep 20, 2005
My Backyard
Name
Boat
toy
Hey Everyone
I'm new to boating and planning on taking my boys out to Catalina for the first time. We are planning to leave Huntington Harbor early by 5:30am and and head back before 1pm for better boating conditions.
I've got 2 questions.
1)Where is the Long Beach bait barge now? I just went out to fish the islands over there 2 days ago and the bait barge was not by the wall where I saw them last time. I guess it moves around?

2)I've got a few spots we will try near Long Point for Calico, Bonito, Barracuda and hopefully Yellowtail, but if its slow or the kids are having a tough time with fly-lining live bait I was hoping to move over to a Rock Fish/ White Fish spot and just fish with squid.
I was hoping for a few suggestions on where to go. If there are any websites that list GPS coordinates of known spots, that would be great too.
E742D8DC-54D2-4FF2-8B0C-A2FEFB483831.jpeg