How often do you change your Braid fishing line?

Discussion in 'San Diego Long Range fishing Reports' started by RichG, Apr 19, 2017.

1. RichG

RichG Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Richard G/
    Boat:
    none
    Since there has been several discussion on Braid fishing line, types, strands, and brands, I always wondered how long it will last? I know some people wash their brain annually and even reverse it on their reels. While other only rinse it off. I know some just strip off the top 100 yard and splice fresh braid on. So without any nicks, or damage, how long will it really last. Especially for those who may fish less than 30 days a year? And do you strip the entire reel and spend the $ on new braid or just splice?

2. maurice escobedo

maurice escobedo Counselor

Name:
    Esteban
    Boat:
    24' Wellcraft air slot
    Great question. I'm new to fishing with braid so I'm eager to hear the input

hardrider5 and RichG like this.
  3. Bigeasy

Bigeasy yeah, yeah!

Name:
    Eric W.
    Boat:
    Tunacious 238 Coastal Twin 150-E
    :appl:Good Question!

RichG likes this.
  4. sealskinner

sealskinner Retired Pimp

Name:
    Mike
    Boat:
    Franks ho
    I've taken mine off and washed it. But I've never replaced it. Some I've had on over 10 years.

Josa1, eric harner and jiggyn like this.
  5. PaDDy Killer'

PaDDy Killer' Well-Known "Member"

Name:
    Patrick
    Boat:
    Parker 2520 & 17' Whaler
    I am no expert but for me it depends on the condition of the spectra, not the age. Once my spectra starts to fade and I have a few years out of it I will flip it on the spool. The spectra spooled on the bottom is like new condition once its on top. This works for me, I have reels with power pro on them over ten years as my heavy stuff is not used and abused like my 40lb gear and under.

Bigeasy likes this.
  6. Bigeasy

Bigeasy yeah, yeah!

Name:
    Eric W.
    Boat:
    Tunacious 238 Coastal Twin 150-E
    :food-smiley-014:
    That's smart!

7. matrixx611