Help picking a boat?

MikeKilo

Dec 5, 2012
OC
Name
Mike
Boat
In the works
Thanks for looking, I'm still kind of new to my selection of boats out there. Hoping BD can show me some more options than what I have found myself. Here's some of my checklist:

Family friendly boat to be able to take wife and kids; 1yr and 2.5yr for easy cruises.
Enclosed bathroom.
Fishable to be able to go off shore with 2 to 3 other buddies. I don't know my boundries just yet but would like as much options offshore budget can buy.
Max budget maybe 60k?
Trailerable, will be parking it next to garage with a 12 ft opening between garage wall and property brick wall. Truck will be a 2wd Tundra.
Prefer it to be outboard engines.
Willing to drive across state to get the right boat. I have personally pinned it down to 1 boat which there aren't many around but maybe there are other options out there! Thanks in advance.

Mr Main22

Shoot em & cook em
Apr 18, 2014
Open Ocean
Name
BajaLifeStyle
Boat
Parker 21
More often than not..don't buy a boat for the ladies or the kids. They will probably equate to a small percentage of use on the boat. I've seen this happen so many times and in the end, they end up losing money to buy another boat capable of what they're looking for. Buy something possibly what you like and take an REI 5 gal bucket with you, the ones that have those seats and that will suffice.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

PaDDy Killer'

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 9, 2008
Santa Clarita
Name
Patrick
Boat
Parker 2520 & 17' Whaler
I agree with Big Tuna. A Striper or Proline would be a great boat for what you want to do. I had a 2601 striper for 10 years that treated me great, learned a ton fishing it and upgraded once I knew what I wanted and didn't want on my next boat. What I liked about the Striper besides the price was the 160 gallon tank. It also has a enclosed head, I ended up removing for sleep space.

Upvote 0

PaDDy Killer'

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 9, 2008
Santa Clarita
Name