Help out a brotha?

KaiChung

Aug 10, 2009
Newcastle/WA/USA
Name
Kai
Boat
Boston Whaler Conquest 28.5
Alright. I'm still pretty new to salmon fishing and thanks for all the advice. However, I still seem to be getting skunked on these cohos. Fishing 60-100 feet deep and marking lots of fish. Using Red Racer and Purple Haze flashers. Tried coho killers and green octopus hootchies. Trolling at speed where downriggers are running 45 degree angle. Fishing just south of Shishole. Nothing.

Any further advice? Anyone want to go fishing with me? I'm usually free during the day before I have to pick up kids from school. I'll supply boat, gas, gear.

Let me know!

FVSerenity

Captain
Feb 27, 2012
The Salt
Name
Rod
Boat
22' Duckworth FVSerenity, 2502 Trophy FVHappyHours
IMG_9791.PNG
I've always had good luck here, just off the bank in the deeper water right where the red box is. Always had the best luck going with the current. Good luck

Clockwork

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Feb 16, 2011
covington, wa
Name
Ryan
Boat
GW Marlin
I usually fish them shallower. In the a.m. I typically run 30 to 45ft deep.

Salmon King

Mar 29, 2013
Everett, WA, USA
Name
Tim
Boat
Salmon King 21' Custom Pilothouse
A couple things... Fish early, start at first light.

Troll fast, 50-60 degree angle with the current (can be 2.5-4 knts).

White squid with a twinkle skirt inside, double hooks with one hanging back at or just beyond the end of the hootchie.

Big super sharp hooks, 4/0 is what I use.

Strip of brined herring stuck on the top hook. Big strip is fine. Long strip, even better.

Find rips and fish them! (Shiny "rivers" on the surface). Troll a few feet outside the shiny, because the shiny is full of weeds.

Stagger the rods. One at 40, one at 90, so on and so forth.

Get ready... Zzzzz, zzz, fish on!

Where do you fish out of?

BlueFinGrin

Bad Things Happen On Big Fish...
Apr 8, 2006
Blue Marble
Name
Grinner
Boat
A Big One - That Floats