Getting a new motor. Any idea wheres the best place?

Jun 4, 2017
hesperia
Name
aaron
Boat
none yet
So I'm new to boat ownership and got off to a bad start. Rookie mistake of leaving the drain plug out, wondered why it wouldn't float off of the trailer :(. lol . but figured it out and got it out on the water. Started to overheat, so I shut her off. Check the oil and it had turned greyish compared to previously clean. Took to shop to get oil change and all other maintenance. The shop took 2 month saying they couldn't get the oil out. But they did change my impellers that were in good shape with a cost more than initial quoted, because of there hassle trying to get the oil out. So I just wanted my boat back to take somewhere else>without inspecting I took it home and motor was in pieces F%#$ and Ive been overseas for the last 3 months. So its had filthy oil in it and not put together for the last 5 months. Thinking ill just get a fresh reman motor installed.

Here's the main part of this post if you skipped through the first part. My original motor is a 5.7 merc/ Carb (1997-98) where is the best place to buy reman motors? Should I order one online and have shop install or are there any reputable shops that could supply and install. I live in Victorville and ill never go back to Range rv's marine shop! I should have known better than to take my boat to a rv place. But now I'm accepting the fact that ill have to drive for some quality work. Ive clled advanced marine and they seem pretty legit. Any other suggestions based on experience?

ps. before you take anything to range rv in Victorville, id google it. Someone actually created a website in regards to how bad they are called www.rangervsucks.com lol wish I would have seen that first. I guess they completely destroyed someone's rv. I'm going to see if godaddy has rangervblows.com still available but I'm thinking it might be taken :(

Thanks,
NewGuy

Topazy

Jan 30, 2018
UA
Name
Jasin Swift
Boat
Rampage 31