Gear recommendations for newbie

Arosas

May 16, 2021
Oceanside
Name
Angel
Boat
Chubasco 2
Hello everyone, I’m primarily a surf fisherman targeting leopard sharks and rays etc. Well I’ve decided this is the year I want to start going offshore to target yellowtail and maybe mahi mahi. So when it comes to the world of offshore fishing I have little knowledge, was hoping for some tips and recommendations for gear. I recently just bought a Daiwa Sealine-X50hv and it has 65lb braid with 50lb topshot and was thinking is this reel better suited for surface irons or heavy yo-yos? Anyways I know I need more setups and am looking for more gear so if anyone can recommend what kind of gear I need and what lb test I should use etc that would be greatly appreciated 🙏

Reactions: Chango3
Upvote 0

tony38

Mar 30, 2014
Name
tony
Boat
none yet
go to the classified and look for a penn fth25 2 spd most time its filled with 65lb braid, its a great all around reel that can cover you from 25-40 lb leader and a rod in the 8 feet rated 20- 40 or a bit heavier and you be in the game

A
Arosas
So would 65lb with 30lb leader be suitable for irons?
Upvote 0
Upvote 0

tony38

Mar 30, 2014
Name
tony
Boat
none yet
you can go 40lb leader or even 50 for irons as its more of a reaction bite, my setup for surface iron for yellows its a lexa 400 filled to the top with 50lb braid and about 5 feet of 40lb mono on a 8ter rod rated 40-60

Reactions: Arosas
Upvote 0

NaClAddict

• Jul 18, 2008
    torrance
    Name
    Greg
    Boat
    22 glasstron
    That’s a decent mid sized off shore reel. I would put #40 on it and try to build a #25. That covers most of the fishing I do offshore. I would look to pair them with good calstar blanks. I would look for a 7’ calstar for both reels. Make sure you buy a bait stick. Reed some reports. 270 7H for #25 or a grafighter, your preference. For #40 I love my 6480 but it’s a 8’. There are some great graphite rods I’m just not as familiar with them.