flyliner

@thereelflyliner
Aug 19, 2007
Santa Monica
Name
Jonathan
Boat
31' Cabo Express
I usually try to avoid fishing over Labor Day weekend, but with the fishing so off the charts this year it has been sort of hard not to want to get out on the water every chance I get. Still, wanting to avoid the crowds, I studied the SST chart on Friday night and picked an area somewhere between the 14, 267, 277 and 209 that I thought wouldn’t get too much traffic.

Saturday morning at 0-dark-thirty my buddy Stephen met me at my slip and we were the first boat of the day to pull up at San Pedro Bait. Mike loaded us up with two beautiful scoops of nice big anchovies and we were off. Thankfully the ocean conditions had improved considerably from the reports the day before and we were able to run comfortably at 24 knots, arriving into the zone I wanted to start fishing in at grey light.

We start to scan for any sign of tuna when I notice about 40 shearwaters sitting on the water waiting for something to happen….interesting. I slow the boat down and we start a drift. Sure enough, we are both hooked-up instantly. Stephen gaffs his fish, and then goes up to the bow and sticks mine with a perfect head shot. Sweet.

We repeat this process a few more times and by 7:30 a.m. we already have all the meat we need.

The best part? We were completely alone!

We start heading back toward San Pedro when we come across a big hammer head shark cruising slowly on the surface. With all the reports that these guys have been holding tuna this year, we stop the boat and fish the shark as if it was a kelp paddy. Instant hook-ups. We pull 9 more yellowfin off this shark before he sinks out for good and we lose the school.

Me with my first shark-caught tuna.

Stephen with a hammer-head groupie.

Notice all the other boats around? It was awesome!!!!!