Fishing with Ramone in Ejido Erendira on 04/20/19 and on 05/25/19

SaltH20Angler

I'm not superstitious... cuz it's bad luck.
Aug 6, 2016
SoCal - Corona
Name
Christopher
Boat
I know a couple guys...
To provide some background, I have never had the opportunity to fish Baja Mexico until my good fishing buddy Benny hit me up about 2 months ago. Benny and I have been fishing pretty hard for the last two years on his 20’ Triton Center Console. We have fished many of the local spots as far north as Catalina all the way down to San Diego fishing offshore for pelagics at the 425 and most of the spots in between.

In early April, Benny and I were looking to fish somewhere close to Ensenada as he has a friend who had a place for us to stay locally. We really enjoy catching (and eating) yellowtail and optimistically hoped that the YT or White Sea Bass might be running further south than San Diego. After doing a research we kept finding good recommendations to fish with Ramone in a little fishing town called Ejido Erendira.

April 20, 2019:
So that Friday, we took off and headed south to Mexico. We spent the night just north of Ensenada and woke up early to get to Ejido Erendira by 6am that Saturday. Prior to this trip, it was a very long time since I stepped foot in Mexico. To be honest, I was apprehensive to go back to Mexico because of a couple of bad experiences twenty years ago in Rosarito while partying with good buddies. Nothing we caused ourselves, but I learned then that when you speak little Spanish and are a tourist, it doesn’t matter what happened when you find yourself having to defend yourself from people looking for a fight. Nevertheless, @Benny Mora speaks Spanish fluently and assured me that we have nothing to worry about. The dreams of catching Baja fish were stronger than my fears of what could happen to me as a tourist in Mexico to fish rather than to party.