PENN

tekguy

Jul 20, 2007
southern california
Name
mike
Boat
none
Rent rod and reel at the landing. buy a tackle pack for a few dollars. Buy a small pack off 2/0 hooks. Buy 1 blue and white salad 6xjr at the landing. Then when you get bit say hookup. When u can see the fish in the water, say color. Repeat. Then drink a beer or 5

Upvote 0

sand junky

Almost A Member
Sep 19, 2007
oceanside
Name
sand junky
Boat
17' Pro-Line cc
this is my first time fishing. i was wondering what should i have with me. rods/reels setup, hooks, lures, jig etc. i hope to get a yellowtail.

:eek:

take lots of cash... take seasick meds... rent tackle, get help from deckhand and tip well (even if you don't score a yellowtail)

... and have fun

sd is a great boat with excellent capt and crew.

good luck

Upvote 0

Amadeus

I Should Upgrade My Account
  • Mar 17, 2011
    San Diego/CA/US
    Name
    Wai Jung
    Boat
    Seahawk II
    1. 40lb yo-yo rig.
    2. 30-40lb casting rig for irons.
    3. 25-30lb fly-line rig (#2 from above could do double duty).
    4. 15-20lb fly-line rig (for smaller baits and/or if the YT are refusing the heavier lined bigger baits)
    5. Fluoro leader for #2 and #3 above
    6. 1/4 and 3/8 oz egg sinkers to force fly-lined baits to go a little deeper than w/o sinker.
    7. 1/0-2/0 live bait hooks
    8. 2/0-3/0 circle hooks (optional)
    9. call landing for iron colors that have been working (usually blue/white, scramble egg)

George or Renee will get you set up once onboard.

Upvote 0

plj46

I Post A Lot But I Can't Edit This
    Jan 7, 2008
    Socal
    Name
    john
    Boat
    24 ft grady white
    1. 40lb yo-yo rig.
    2. 30-40lb casting rig for irons.
    3. 25-30lb fly-line rig (#2 from above could do double duty).
    4. 15-20lb fly-line rig (for smaller baits and/or if the YT are refusing the heavier lined bigger baits)
    5. Fluoro leader for #2 and #3 above