JGlass77

Dec 19, 2020
Oxnard
Name
James Glass
Boat
Parker 2510
What up!

I am planning a vacation at the end of August on the big island of Hawaii on the Kona coast and wanted to get a few recommendations on a Charter boat. Please let me know if any of you know of a few great captains that will put me game fish.

James

Reactions: Mick Dodge

Smokedpig

Aug 24, 2018
Northern California
Name
Steve
Boat
None
I’m no expert, but I have gone fishing with Captain Stretch on the Hula Girl a couple times and he and his deckhand Cole are awesome. Both times I’ve taken my young son and they have been great with him as well.

Upvote 0

Pitchinwedge

• Aug 7, 2016
    So Cal
    Name
    Sammie
    Boat
    None
    Most will give you enough filets to feed your fam. However, most say the catch belongs to the boat and they sell the fish for additional revenue.

FWIW, a couple years ago I did a 4hr charter with C-Hawk. Small aluminum hull with no head, but a really short trip so I figured it would be ok. Charter costs less than the big sportfishers, too. Since I was with my 8 year old, billfish wasn't the target. Instead, we fished chunk bait for tuna, rainbows, etc. Never was an issue for us to be handling the rods and we had a great time. Perhaps the closest thing to SoCal style fishing minus live bait. We were offered as much of the catch as we wanted. I took just half the filets from a single 15lb-ish YFT and it was plenty. The setup isn't for everyone but if it fits your idea of a good time, I highly recommend.

Upvote 0

untensan

Almost A Member
    Jan 30, 2010
    Kealakekua
    Name
    Terry
    Boat
    21' Seacat CC
    Hope they let you take the rod out of the gunnel rod holders... I've read most charters in HI don't?