First ever Tuna trip EPIC!! 2.5 Pacific Dawn Oct. 23-26

_o.c.g_

Nov 7, 2018
Ssf
Name
OSCAR GARCIA
Boat
OSCAR GARCIA
If this is Tuna fishing, i just became addicted. Day 1, kind if slow, a few bft caught in the am fly lining in the 40-50lbs range, but then a few big ones on the kite. Drove around most of the day looking, at this point, havent caught anything, i figured at least the food was bomb, we had blueberry pancakes, eggs, sausage, potatoes, croissants, and jerk chicken for lunch. When dinner was starting around 7pm, the capt. Rolled up on what looked like a decent school on the radar, he said drop the flat falls!!!! I had a 320 gram Glow striped nomad flat fall with 200lbs mono leader rigged to my phenix axis 40-100Lbs rod with a accurate bv-2 800N, 80lbs braid. Me being a rookie, i tied a bad connection knot to my crimped flat fall rig, so right on my first drip BOOM i got hit and it just took my lure right away!!! Crap!! I ran to my bag and tied a SD jam on to my pre rigged (crimped) 300g pink/green nomad glow flat fall, at this point everyone is hooking up, the deck hands are too busy to deal with a rook like me, they are gaffing fish that each required 4 of them because every fish being brought on board was in the 100-200lbs plus range!!! Even the cook had to run out and help gaff!!! So i tied my own rig as quick as I could, and sure enough, on my first drop, BOOM!!! Got on my first ever blue fin, i fought that thing for about 25-30 minutes before i got it in the boat, my arms where shaking, but there it was, in all its bloody glory, my 165lbs blue fin tuna. They where just coming in hot left and right, i took a break to soak in the massacre and talk smack with my new found friends. After about 30 minutes and a few shots of Remy Martin 1738, i dropped the same rig in the water, in the second drop BAM!!! Another one! Fought this one another 30 minutes!! And it felt bigger then the first, i finally got it to the rail, all 3 deckhands, the capt, and the coo