First Boat - Thoughts on Mako 221 and 250 Merc ProXS..

OCPapa

Mar 16, 2021
Irvine, CA
Name
Sam
Boat
None... yet
I'm new to boating and have been looking for a 1st boat for several months now. I found what looks like a good deal
  • 2002 Mako 221 CC with Mercury Pro XS 250hp (477hrs) for $17K.
I have a couple problems.
I have read several posts that talk about the Mercury 250 Pro XS powerheads needing to be replaced. I don't know the year of the motor.

Owner's also posted that the boat is 26ft but from pictures the back of the boat matches a 2002 Mako 221 (not a 252), so not sure if the owner knows what he is doing and if I can trust what he tells me about the boat.

Looks like boat is stored outside uncovered based on the fading I can see on the motor casing.

I will go to see the Mako tomorrow. And hopefully if it looks good the owner will let me send the boat to a mechanic to be looked over rather than sell it to the first person that is willing to hand him the money with getting it looked at.

Please let me know what you guys would do?
Can anyone confirm if the ProXS is a problematic motor? If yes then as a new boat owner should I stay away even if it is a good deal. I don't have the experience to know when the boat should and should not be taken several miles offshore yet. So I'm think I had better get a boat with a motor that is solid.

I would like to be able to fish 15-25 miles offshore and around Catalina.

I'm open to other boat recommendations. My budget is 30k and if necessary 20k for new tow vehicle. My current SUV is a Model X that can only tow 5000lbs and the range suffers when towing. What would you guys get?

Errin
Errin
don't buy a Mercury when you could own a Japanese outboard.
Upvote 0
Upvote 0

Shewillbemine

"should of" is NOT a thing
  • Oct 19, 2012
    California
    Name
    Shewillbemine
    Boat
    Chips N Guac
    If your budget is $30k, you can get a much nicer (reliable) boat than what you're describing.