Azarkon

I Should Upgrade My Account
Aug 28, 2015
California
Name
Joe
Boat
N/A
Considering an Edgewater 245 center console for offshore use. Quality brand, all specifications look solid, fuel efficient, trailerable under California laws, reviews are excellent, feedback from sites such as thehulltruth.com are very positive, etc. Plus there's a local dealer so should be easier to get support in case there's issues.

Only problem is, all the reviews, feedback, etc. are for the East coast, and I have no experience with how East coast boats, especially their center consoles, do out West. Sure, most of our popular boats are also East coast boats, but they're old, proven products, while I've not seen many Edgewater around, especially not the smaller ones. I'm familiar with heavy boats like Parkers and Skipjacks, and have heard that Edgewater is similar to Grady White, but the only Grady White I've seen out West are the heavier Marlins and the Sail Fish, so again, not a direct comparison available.

So I'm trying to gather as much second hand information as I can. If there are any Edgewater owners out here, especially of the lighter Edgewater boats weighing less than 5,000 pounds, I'd love to hear your thoughts about how well your boat does in California waters. My experience tells me the ride should be solid, but I'm more worried about stability at drift, since our ground swells are frequently larger than those on the East coast, as well as other unforeseen performance issues due to differences in offshore conditions.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

tanner.s

Fish Slaughterer
Oct 18, 2012
San Diego
Name
Tanner
Boat
1997 Proline 23 W/A
I see a twin engine 24-26ft Edgewater cc out there all the time and he is always going 30-40 through even decently snotty conditions. Seeing him at drift, I didn't notice any excessive rocking or anything unusual, looks like a solid boat.

Sent from my SM-G925V using Tapatalk

Reactions: Azarkon
Upvote 0

Azarkon

I Should Upgrade My Account