Do I just suck at lingcod fishing or what?

Tish

Almost A Member
Jun 27, 2019
Shoreline WA
Name
Grant
Boat
1991 Achilles SGX-122, 1997 Boston Whaler Dauntless 17
Hi Guys,
I've only been seriously fishing the salt for 3 years now, and have concentrated on salmon and Dungeness crab and have become pretty good at targeting them. This year I decided to go after some fisheries I've never tried before, namely prawns and lingcod. I've done great with the prawns but man I seem to really be sucking on the lingcod… I've fished for them three times this season in areas 9 and 10 and have nothing to show for it (not even a sub-legal fish) so I'm wondering if I can get any critique of what I'm doing, I've been so unsuccessful that it's time to revisit the basics to make sure I'm not making newbie mistakes.

Areas: This season I fished a half day (noon to 4) on a reef I know of near Richmond Beach in area 10, I've actually caught ling there twice before (last year) but that was when the season was closed and anyway neither one was over 26 inches. I've also spent two full days (9-4) over the last week fishing for them on possession with what seemed like an armada of other boats. Generally targeting 35-70 FOW and fishing the known spots out there.

Technique: I'm setting myself up for a drift, then allowing the tide and wind to push me over the spots where there are reportedly lingcod. Because of the days I've been fishing my drift has been fairly fast from tidal exchange, like 1.5-2mph on the gps at times. I almost never anchor up (I think I've done it twice on my current boat) but have seen some others doing that, might give it a shot to stay firmly over some of the good holes/boulders I can see on my "ClearVu" garmin fish finder setup (94SV).