Distance to the Coronado Island from

saltydood911

Nov 1, 2022
Los Angeles
Name
David Jeen
Hi everyone,

Been a lurker for awhile, decided to chime in....

As a newbie here, we were planning to slip a boat (actually a friend's 25') but can't decide what would be an ideal location to slip the boat in?

The boat is currently on a trailer (from the Los Angeles area) and we may fish 2-3x's on hot bite months (tails, tunas, dodo's) to 1-2x's in the slower times (rock cod-Mexico).

We usually fish the Nados most of the time, so using that as our "end point", does anyone know the distance (nautical or whatever miles) from Sea World Marina or Marina Village or from Chula Vista Marina?

Looking at Google Maps, it seems almost the same distance to travel from Sea World or MV as it is as far to travel from CVM?

The advantage of slipping from CVM is that the larger bait barge is on the way out versus going from SW or MV, its the smaller bait receiver and on hot bite days, the wait time is much longer (aka the Conga line).

The con from CVM is the slip rates are more pricey.

So to weigh things around, maybe slipping in SW or MV area even though it's cheaper maybe having to run the longer (??) distances equals the same rate of an CVM slip.

Thanks in advance!

Upvote 0

Fearlessfiasco

Loco Leftist...
Jun 5, 2012
La Mesa
Name
Jeff
Boat Name
Sea Pro 170DC
I used to keep a sailboat down in Chula Vista. It's a long ways back in there from the ocean. That means more fuel and more time.

If it were me and I was fishing, I'd go for the Mission Bay spot. You'll eventually find that you don't always go straight south. The more west you go the less it matters between starting from SD vs MB as far as time and distance. You might even find yourself heading north on occasion.

Disclaimer, my current boat is on a trailer and I'll generally take it to wherever launch makes sense for that day's efforts.

Reactions: Danthefishman
Upvote 0

bman440440

I am the one who knocks!!!
Sep 8, 2010