Did my first 6 day - now I'm hooked

Team Brother

Feb 22, 2020
Fresno
Name
Chris Cordova
Boat
None
Went on the Red Rooster 6 day trip and fished Guadalupe Island. My very first long range trip and now I am hooked and want to catch wahoo and yellowtail. What's your recommendation on how long of a trip to look into and what time of the year is best. I am new to bloodydecks. Thanks Chris.

clemente_killa

Dead to the Core
Jul 29, 2011
Nevada
Name
Casey
Boat
Big X
Welcome to BD! A late summer/early fall 10-day would be a great trip to catch yellowtail and wahoo. Pick a boat that meets your schedule and budget and get your trip booked. All the boats are pretty damn good at catching fish and providing for a great customer experience. After a few longer trips you'll find your favorite boat, captain, and crew.

Russ Scholl

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Apr 1, 2018
Tuscaloosa
Name
Russ Scholl
Boat
Kayaks
Welcome Chris! I am a newbie also-3 trips under my belt starting in 2019. Go on as long a trip as you can. For variety that would be the 8-10 day summer and fall trips for Wahoo and Yellow Tail with Yellow fin also likely. Mahi-mahi also on the possible menu as well as grouper. Good luck!

Reactions: Team Brother

$norkle

May 6, 2008
Corvallis,OR
Name
Bruce
Boat
In my dreams!
Welcome Chris. Agree with the above posts. 8-day should be your minimum target. If it is a warm water year, you can expect wahoo starting in mid-July; if not a warm water year mid-August would be a better start time. YT are often better in the earlier time frame, and wahoo better later in the summer. Dorado absolutely better the later in the summer or early Fall. Whenever you get to go, there can be some exciting fishing to be had.

TanstaaflSD

Dec 3, 2013
San Diego, CA, USA
Name
Tanstaafl
Boat
n/a
I second the excellent calendar advice.

For your professional (fishing) development >>