Daiwa SK jig reccomendations

Derrick.Van

Mar 26, 2019
Los Angeles
Name
Derrick Van
Boat
Don't got one
Hi I am looking to hop on a overnight on the Old Glory to go after some bluefin. I have a Avet SX I'm planning on running with a 25 or 30lb setup. Might be able to borrow my buddy's Trinidad 20a (what should I setup on that?), and planning on renting a rod at H&M for any bigger models. I normally fish the island and occasionally offshore when the getting is good but never ventured on anything over 40. I see that the new hot trend has moved on from flatfalls to sk jigs (and for good reason too I saw them get bit). so I want to get a few for myself aswell. What color do you guys recommend and how many grams? Do I need to rerig them for the 100+ or are they pretty good out of the box. Thank you! I am hoping to get my first trophy fish and have fun since its my first time fishing down in San Diego. Heard good things about the Old Glory and I can't catch fish sitting on my chair all day.

Reactions: kbray001
Upvote 0

Mr. DRE

I Should Upgrade My Account
  • Sep 23, 2019
    West Hills, CA
    Name
    Andre
    Boat
    Private
    The colors that have been working this year are blue and pink in 6 to 7 ounces and the zebra in 9-11 ounces but good luck finding those. Best bet is to find one that has good action and getting it into the zone. For the larger BFT it is recommended that you use a leader 130 and up. Good luck

Shimano Penn

Dec 3, 2014
    Chula Vista
    Name
    David
    Boat
    Fond Memory
    The SK’s are really hard to find right now; Nomad Buffalo, Tady Tuna TSP, Daiwa Mr Slow and of course Shimano flat fall all work just fine are easier to get in the sizes and colors mentioned above. Right place, right time is what counts 😉

Upvote 0

mutu0069

CEO of my own Domain
  • Oct 7, 2006
    los alamitos
    Name
    brian
    Boat
    whatever floats