Texlee

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Jun 3, 2012
Vernon, Texas, USA
Name
Alben Lee
Boat
Excel
Bear with me guys and please don’t hammer me. I’m a newbie to SD LR fishing. I’m trying to get my
ducks in a row. I currently own a Penn 16, 30 and 50 VSX. I really don’t want to have to send them to
Cal’s for hotrodding. I want to spend that money I would have spent on some Mak Sea’s.
Help me mix and match. This is what I have planned which I know wont be quite right, so please advise.<o:p></o:p>

50VSX tied to a 3x5 for trolling, dropper loop, and chunking<o:p></o:p>
30VSX tied to a 770XXXH for dropper loop, chunking and jigging<o:p></o:p>
16VSX tied to a 2x4 for a 100# rig / small bait / finese<o:p></o:p>
Now for my Mak Sea’s that I am going to purchase<o:p></o:p>
16 Sea tied to a 2x4 to have a backup for my 16VSX and vise versa<o:p></o:p>
2 each 20 Sea’s tied to 770XXXH for flylining sardines and jigging.
OR would I be better off with 1 each 20 SEa and 1 each 30 SEa. Not a whole lot of difference in cost
between them.

Statistico

Statistition
Jan 23, 2007
San Diego
Name
Joe
Boat
None
This looks like questions for fishy and wahoo dad. The makaira reels are state of the art...no reel is perfect, but you won't be sorry if you get a 30 and a 20.

Joe

Soda Pop

Feb 12, 2011
Fresno, CA
Name
David Rouse
Boat
Long range fishing
Get a 20 and a 30 mak. If you already own the rods your fine. You can do the 2X4 with the 20. The calstar 770XXXh with your 30 or hook it up with your pen 50. Make sure your pens free spool. If not use them for chunking and trolling. Your 3X5 or your 770xxxh can match with a 30 mak. Maybe not the best match for some but it will work just fine.
Do you have a trip booked yet? I am on a few 15 day trips this year.

tunanorth

Dec 4, 2005
By the lake
Name
Tunanorth
Boat
Bass Tracker 16
Bear with me guys and please don&#8217;t hammer me. I&#8217;m a newbie to SD LR fishing. I&#8217;m trying to get my