goin2bepro

Jan 26, 2016
missouri
Name
Derek
Boat
glasply
Hey there,
My name is Derek and I have been lurking in the forums for about a month now. Anyways, I'm getting ready to move back home from the mainland after 10 years and have an opportunity to buy a boat and bring it with me. I am looking at two boats as of now. The first boat is a 1985 20' sportcraft center console with a t-top and 115 hp outboard. The boat has been overhauled with new guages, rebuilt motor, new interior, but i haven't looked at transom/stringers yet. Also comes with a 2001 trailer. I can probably talk him into selling for $6500.

The next boat I'm looking at is a 1972 17' glasply with trailer that will likely need a full overhaul along with new engine, currently has an ooooold wizzard outboard. But i can get this boat for next to nothing.

Last option is to wait to come home and try to find a deal.

Mind you although I'm from hawaii, I'm new to boating. I fished/spearfish (shore/kayak dive) my whole life just never knew anyone with a boat. I'd like to the boat to be an all around rig for troll, bottom, family. Also, shipping of the boat will not come out of my pocket.

All things considered, what are your thoughts, opinions, recommendations?

Ps. Sorry that was so long.

Upvote 0

apogee

My name is Apogee and I am a Squidaholic
Jan 29, 2009
Bakersfield
Name
Apogee..
Boat
Boston Whaler Outrage 28 (End Game)
Take the Wizzard. No place like home........

Upvote 0

Kinaiahi61

Jan 17, 2012
Lihue, Hi
Name
Kalani
Boat
Kai Kea
Buy something up there, you get a lot more boat for the money. I would go with whatever size you can store once back here. Usually, boat owners only upsize, they don't usually downsize. Projects cost a lot, read my post "at it again." I'm into it so far for around 8k or more in materials. Keep that in mind as well as the time it takes, oh yeah, and fit that into an already busy life. Good luck, and post up, everyone likes to read them.

Upvote 0
Mar 11, 2006
san diego
Name