Cayman 124F fishing kayak (anyone have one?)

ButchA

Mar 27, 2020
Richmond, VA
Name
Butch Ammon
Boat
Cayman 124F kayak
Greetings... I am a newbie to this forum and have already posted on the Vintage section, as all my fishing gear is mostly vintage stuff from the 60's & 70's and/or 100% "old school".

Anyway, I have a Cayman 124F SOT fishing kayak, that was given to me my bro-in-law. It's awesome, stable, and tracks dead on straight. I use it to drift around and fish out of, or sometimes, I'll put one of my old Garcia rods in the rod holder, paddle along and go trolling.

What do you all think of these fishing kayaks?

Saba Slayer

Saba Slayer
Oct 19, 2004
Palos Verdes
Name
Jim Salazar
Boat
18' Welcraft CC, Hobie PA 14 and Hobie Outback
Simple as they come...
The best part is...it's paid for...
If it stays upright and tracks straight and makes you happy...that's all that matters...!

Some of us tend to go overboard on comfort and Stuff...LOL
IMG_6142.jpeg

Reactions: ButchA

ButchA

Mar 27, 2020
Richmond, VA
Name
Butch Ammon
Boat
Cayman 124F kayak
Thanks! You are right... It was FREE! 8-)

The only thing I want to change/upgrade is the paddle. I don't know the measurement, but my bro-in-law is like 5'8" or 5'9" and I'm 6'0". It just feels like the paddle is too short for me, if that makes sense.

Saba Slayer

Saba Slayer
Oct 19, 2004
Palos Verdes
Name
Jim Salazar
Boat
18' Welcraft CC, Hobie PA 14 and Hobie Outback
Yea...get yourself a good paddle and make it a bit longer...the better kayak shops will have a selection of lengths and price ranges and they should be able to give you some guidance on what you'll need.
Where are you located in SoCal...?
Remember...you can keep this paddle and use it on future kayaks that you may own...so... spend a few bucks if you can afford it and get something shaped well and light weight...you'll appreciate it with each stroke of the paddle...!

ButchA

Mar 27, 2020
Richmond, VA
Name
Butch Ammon
Boat
Cayman 124F kayak