Calico Fishing is Child's Play

SLB

Aug 3, 2008
Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Name
Steve
Boat
Angler 204 WA
I booked a trip with Captain Dave Hansen for my son and I today.

My son, Christopher, caught 35 calicos and 16 other misc fish, including mackeral, barracuda, kelpfish and the biggest jacksmelt I have ever seen. I know because he was counting them. We were fishing boiler rocks north of Dana Point for the calicos and later in the kelp for the other fish. The boiler fishing was close to a fish per bait. Watching my son flylining anchovies and setting the hook was the coolest thing. Being a teacher myself, I know the advantage a non-parent has when teaching a child anything. Dave was amazing in helping Christopher and showed incredible patience all day as Christopher grappled with flylining anchovies. He is so hooked on fishing this way now.

Oh yeah - just for fun, I checked the fish counts for all the landings today. Christopher out caught each of the landings today by himself. Yeah Dave and I caught fish, but that wasn't what today was about.

The second picture is a jacksmelt. We didn't take a picture of the really big one, but it was at least twice the size of the one in the picture. Of course, Christopher was excited and proud of all the fish he caught.

ChristopherCalico.jpg
JackSmelt.jpg

bus kid

rebmem nwonk llew
Feb 8, 2009
www.spacex.com
Name
David
Boat
Skipjack 20 open
Time well wasted.
Great photos

Reel hip

Meet my "Well known Member"
Feb 19, 2008
San Diego
Name
Doug
Boat
25ft Skipjack fly
Excellent day on the water for both you and you son!

aloharob

Sep 9, 2004
Calabasas, CA
Name
Rob
Boat
40' Cabo Flybridge "Magellan" and 19' Boston Whaler "BobKat"
Excellent day for Christopher - even if he catches fish for the next 50 years he will remember this day!! Good job by both Dad and Capt. Dave.

martman

Oct 13, 2007
Laguna Niguel
Name
marty
Boat
I'll bring the beer