Bank Robber

Hyperbolist
Apr 9, 2006
Merritt Island
Name
Dean
Boat
F/V Bank Robber
A couple of years ago (almost to the day) I had a U joint bellows fail on me and only noticed it on the way to SD to go tuna fishing see post.

http://www.bdoutdoors.com/forums/offshore-reports-southern-california-usa/76437-alby-report-7-14-07-a.html

Well it took about 1 year and 10 months for the noise to really start. My transom bearing was beginning to really growl. Knowing that I want to change to diesel power in the near future, I wanted an at home option for plucking engines from my pretty tall in the driveway boat..

So I hatched this idea for an engine hoist frame. Being an electrician I used parts that were at hand.

Materials used

20 ft of 3" rigid conduit
30 ft of 2.5" rigid conduit
2 junk lighting brackets
2 6" scrap pieces of 2" rigid conduit
4 90 lb bags of concrete
4 3/8 x 2" bolts
a little bit of 20 mil. tape

First I cut out a 16 x 16 area in my driveway that worked with where I park the boat. I dug a hole with a post hole digger that was about 2' 6" deep in the center of the hole I cut in the driveway and one in the planter on the other side. Then I cut and threaded (2) 3" X 2' 6" pieces of pipe and taped them up for protection from corrosion.

I let the concrete harden then inserted (2) 10' sticks of 2.5" conduit into the 3" sleeves in the ground. I then installed the 2" scraps into the old lighting brackets and slide a 10 piece of 3" conduit on top. I then drilled hole through the threaded holes in the brackets into the pipe so I could use the bolts as pins to hold the horizontal in place. The lighting brackets were not my first choice but I wasn't able to find anything else that would work.