Bucket List Tuna

Freddiefish

Mar 5, 2019
Huffman Tx
Name
Freddie
Boat
Carolina Skiff
Hey guys, another newbie here. (Long Range)
I am trying to cross off a few more things off the bucket list before I kick it. Looking for advice on the best time of year to have a decent chance at big tuna. Doesn't have to be a cow but looking for one over 100#. I am probably looking at an 8 or 10 day trip next year.
Any help would be appreciated.
Just an old man trying to empty his bucket.
Thanks

ZZZZZ

natural born jig slingers
Dec 11, 2003
Costa Rica. SD, Old Del Mar
Name
Boat
Jet Ski Yamaha FX Show. ZZZZZ
Nov 10 day. Historically gives shots at 100 pounders. Guadalupe, Lower banks, Alijos (come back), and offshore/island jumbo bft 100 plus pounders. Good luck. Could catch a 100 pound yft and a 100lb bft

Maybe think about pursuing a giant dog tooth tuna also. I caught a 8lber. So want a giant one. Prehistoric tuna. Dinosaur tuna. White sashimi
bigdog_jon-1024x768.jpeg

NaplesJohn

Never Forget 343
Jun 9, 2010
Port Aransas, TX, USA
Name
John
Boat
Wilderness Systems T-160...and just sold the boat!!!
As mentioned fall 10 dayers on a boat with Lupe permits. Don't forget your backyard...I've gotten several 100+ in Port A, though Galveston is closer. With that said, San Diego LR is in a league of it's own...I call our local tuna "camping"

Reactions: ripped

Freddiefish

Mar 5, 2019
Huffman Tx
Name
Freddie
Boat
Carolina Skiff
As mentioned fall 10 dayers on a boat with Lupe permits. Don't forget your backyard...I've gotten several 100+ in Port A, though Galveston is closer. With that said, San Diego LR is in a league of it's own...I call our local tuna "camping"
Yeah I know but Long range is on my list so I thought I'd try and scratch 2 off at once. Venice La. is only a 6 or 7 hour drive as well and I've done that once and will probably go again sometime.

FishRock

Still trying to figure it all out
Mar 27, 2013
Alaska
Name
JAM
Boat
Thunnus - 22' Koffler BayBee (1990)