Siv

I Should Upgrade My Account
May 8, 2008
Normandy Park Wa
Name
Dave
Boat
19' SeaSport
Went shrimping Wednesday and when we got back buddy says your right brake light is out but all other lights were fine. Today I hook up to have a look and now I nothing - no running, no signals , no brakes, either side. Trailer was connected to truck for the look today because I know some trailers need to be connected for ground. Connector is 7 pin round and all looks fine, clean connections on both trailer and truck side. Truck lights are fine. Wires that I can see all look OK, no scuffed insulation or cuts. Trailer is a 3 year old Tuff. I am no mechanic, basic stuff is my limit.

WTF..always something with a boat. Thoughts, advice?

Thanks

Upvote 0

hawksfan75

Wear your god damned mask!
Sep 7, 2011
Kent, WA USA
Name
Eric
Boat
Whichever I am invited onto
Bad crimps, bad ground connection (tail lights ground to trailer through a stud usually), loose connections in the plug, etc…

Upvote 0

Mike_I

May 19, 2006
Irvine
Name
Mike_I
Boat
Cabo 216 First Love
Make sure you have a good ground, white wire, on the trailer side. If you have a voltmeter turn lights and flashers on then check the other pins for voltage on the vehicle side. I'm guessing it's a bad ground since nothing is working and the ground is the only common thing among all of the lights. That's assuming as in most vehicles each lead on the vehicle side is fused separetly and the chances are slim that all of the fuses blew.

Upvote 0

Captain Decent

The Bert makes ‘em Squirt
Nov 2, 2017
Covington, wa
Name
Ryan
Boat
The Bert Makes ’em Squirt
You need an actual ground. Not the hitch. Since most trailer lights ground to the frame I run jumper wires between the frame members to join them and run a ground wire to the plug. If your trailer is only 3 years old I'm sure it grounds through the plug so look there first. Since you lost all lights it almost certainly is the ground.

Upvote 0

wdlfbio