Hellosugaree

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Sep 6, 2019
San Francisco
Name
Timbo
Boat
13' Boston Whaler
I'm in the middle of rewiring my boat, and I want to get some input since I've never done any wiring before. I initially was just going to replace some ugly/suspect connectors and household wiring with marine grade stuff, but decided I might as well do it right if I'm gonna spend the time.

Let me show you what I got rid of so far. It was a mashup of stranded copper wire, wire nuts, and various other non waterproof connectors, a mess of in-line fuses all over the place, and about 8 leads going directly to the positive terminal of battery.:
IMG_0040.jpg

Not pictured is all the wire I pulled out along with this stuff.

Here's what I've replaced it with so far:
IMG_0037.jpg

I pulled new 10 ga tinned copper wires for a fuse box and neg bus bar in the console, and so far have leads out to the FF and bilge switch. All connectors are tinned copper adhesive shrink.

As I got going, I've sort of come up with a plan. I already spent 6 hours working on it before I actually came up with a plan, but that's the way it goes when you have no clue what you're doing at the start:

IMG_0043.jpg

I'll explain what I've done and what I plan to do, and I welcome any input from those with more experience than my zero experience.

Regarding the main leads from battery: I used 10ga wire for the runs from battery to fuse box and neg bus. It's about 7 feet of wire and I'm only planning on running a fish finder, bilge pump which only gets used intermittently, a bait pump, and possibly a USB accessory port for emergency phone/radio charging only. With everything on it should be pulling less than 15A and I usually won't run everything at once.

For all the wiring from accessories to bus, I plan on using 14ga wire.

I intend to put one LED push button switch for each accessory.