Reel Obsession

Well-Known "Member"
Oct 26, 2007
Battle Ground WA
Name
Tim
Boat
26' Seaswirl Striper
I'm pretty new to fishing Cabo but will be there with two buddies the first week in June. We'll be fishing our own boat, and will likley fish mainly out of CSL.

Any suggestions for best bets for lures/colors for this time of year? Have a fairly well stocked tackle box with clones, Bonita's, daisy chains, rapala's, cedar plugs etc. and will change it up until something sparks an interest, but would love ideas on what to try first. Terrafin shows a good temp/color break running due south of the point, hope that holds which should at least give a place to start.

Thanks

renegademike

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Jul 4, 2007
Cabo San Lucas
Name
Mike T
Boat
31 Bertram Renegademike
Tim I live in cabo full time and if there is anything I can help you with once you get down here feel free to give me a holler.
I used to bring my skiff down here from San Diego many times and it was a learning experience at first until I got to know some of the locals and what not. The fishing down here can be great fun on a smaller size boat because for the most part you don't have to travel very far to get into some great offshore style fishing.

Finding a guide for the first few trips can shorten your learning curve big time. If you have a good sounder and know how to use it the inshore structure fishing can be a blast. We still have some yellow tail around and last year we were still getting them in the 15 to 20lb class until mid to late June.
June is when we normally get our bigger sized roosters to show up.
If its marlin your after some local advise on where the fish are biting is a big help and for the most part the local gringos are more than willing to help.