C.Bergs

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Sep 21, 2015
Marina del Rey
Name
Cory
Boat
Skipjack 24 Open - Pau Hana
I'm trying to get a jump on some maintenance before the season starts back up again. I'm looking to install a below-deck helium tank on the 24 Skippy Open. Tried to search the forums, but couldn't find anything regarding an install.

Going to put a 150cf tank below the starboard hatch and have a remote filler above deck.

Has anyone seen any cool builds or have any good ideas on how to keep the tank secure below deck? I'm a very proficient woodworker and also have access to folks that weld aluminum. Doesn't seem like rocket science, but thought I'd ask around to see if someone's done it before or knows about some cool shit I don't know about.

Thanks for any insight!

Reactions: miaf

swizler

Well-Known "Member"
Aug 4, 2006
Local pub
Name
Jay
Boat
27 custom
Just use pipe riser clamps and have your buddy weld it to a mounting plate. you can find them on grainer or mcmaster- carr. They come in stainless, aluminum, and galvanized.

Reactions: C.Bergs

C.Bergs

Sep 21, 2015
Marina del Rey
Name
Cory
Boat
Just use pipe riser clamps and have your buddy weld it to a mounting plate. you can find them on grainer or mcmaster- carr. They come in stainless, aluminum, and galvanized.
That's a good idea! I'm thinking a right angled mounting plate that can be through bolted through the stringer. Weld the riser clamp on the top. That could be pretty trick!

C.Bergs

Sep 21, 2015
Marina del Rey
Name
Cory
Boat
How and where are you going to refill it?
There are a bunch of gas supply companies in LA that can refill it. The tank itself isn't terribly heavy and will be able to come in and out of the hatch as needed.

Any welding supply that sells gas will want your tank hydrostaticly tested.
Yes, absolutely.

Reactions: kbray001

gecsr1

28' Aquasport "Reel Adventure II"
Jul 15, 2005
Poway Ca
Name
Gary
Boat
28' Aquasport "Reel Adventure II" / PlainJaneRods