Sep 9, 2004
West LA
Name
Min
Boat
None
COMPLETED

Hi Guys,

Well another year goes by and another trip in the books. I've been fishing Rick Ozaki's charter now for 7 years... My buddy Max who I got into LR fishing has now been on 4 of these 16 dayer and now considered a LR veteran.

I guess the part of the excitement is preparing for the trip and packing the tackle and making sure all your gear are up to spec. Giant YFT fishing is unforgiving and everything needs to work as designed. Packing things and hope you didn't forget anything. Of a funny note, as I was packing up, there was a iPhone charging cord on the floor. I was thinking of putting that into the bag, but then decided I already had one, I wouldn't need a redundant one. Well, my iPhone cable goes bad on like the 3rd night. Good thing "Doc" John had a spare cable to loan me.

We load up the wife's van with my tackle and Max's tackle the day before we head down to SD. Next morning, I go and pick Max up in Culver City. One of the great things about Rick's charter is that we get to stay on the boat the night before. We head down and was at the docks by 1pm and people were already inline with their carts full of gear.

Usual charter members like Louie Louie, Jim Evans, Jim Issac, Marty, Victor Long, Bruce (back from a break of few years), Ken "Captain" Buzzell, Phil Nashida, Frank Bartel, Dane, Paul the long shore-man (there were multiple Pauls), Rocky and Rick of course. Paul Rubio showed up later with the booze and his stuff.

Then new members of the charter. Jerry, Sharon, Mike Noblett, Jeff from Vegas, Richard my roomie and one of the Paul from norcal. Jerry and Sharon showed up the next morning and we helped them load up.