Anyone know palm trees?

Discussion in 'Nonsense Anything Boards' started by el Toro, May 26, 2014.

1. el Toro

el Toro I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Nate
    Boat:
    Artemis
    Why do mine look like shit? They yellow off gradually and then the fronds die. More water, less water? Fertilizer?

image.jpg

2. Slater

Slater cuss on Monday,pray on Sunday,dream about one day

Name:
    Rob
    Boat:
    sold! / cattle boat
    Im no pro but just went looked at 3 queens & 2 kings in the hot el cajon sun & would say youre onto something as mine are somewhat more green / less yellow besides the dead frawns that need to be pulled..
    My guess is not enough water as mine have been in for almost 10years & never once hit them with fertilizer.
    palm2.jpg

palm1.jpg

Last edited: May 26, 2014
  3. Aggro

Aggro Keepin my pimp hand strong!

Name:
    AGGRO
    Boat:
    skiff
    Check the soil. Usually too much water. Is it wet?

4. ?? fisherman

?? fisherman super Captain

Name:
    Mike
    Boat:
    Kencraft CC
    Hey Nate, I bet you are starting to hate those queens huh? Most people do now, and end up bailing on them.

The Queens were once the hot ticket cheap but cool Palm here in SoCal, but now they are kind of like the old Mexican Fan Palms from long ago..... people start hating them. The attraction for most is that they are a quick growing palm, but that ends up being what most hate not far down the road, as they outgrow most homes, unless it's maybe a two story..... but being that they aren't self pruning means once they are tall, it's a pain in the ass to keep them trimmed as they produce new fronds often.

I'm not saying all this because I don't have any, because I have plenty that I am working to get rid of in the near future....... I have been a palm freak for many years now..... I love certain palms, but have come to hate queens........ it's mostly slow growing palms and bitchen cycads for me now.