Anybody running the Cummins QSC 8.3, 550 hp diesel or know anyone who is?

Fish Slapper

I would love to be your Captain for a day!
Jul 30, 2008
Tacoma,Wa
www.markyoungbloodsportfishing.com
Name
Mark
Boat
30 Ft "Pacific Addiction". 26.5 ft Alumaweld Columbia "Turbos Palace"
I am in the stages of new boat planning and would prefer to go with a fast diesel for longevity and fuel consumption if at all possible but I cannot give up allot of speed. I like what I see for specs on this engine but having trouble finding anyone with direct experience in a 34 ft boat. I am hoping to go with a single for cost and weight but the boat I am looking at has never been built with this engine so I cannot get actual numbers .

Upvote 0

samohr

Swabbie
Dec 3, 2006
Wa
Name
Name
Boat
Boat
Boatdiesel is where you want to look for specific info on this motor. I have no direct experience with that engine, but 550 hp from an 8 liter is a little high strung, keep the hp/ displacememt ratio under 60 if you want a long lived diesel. I would think 480 would be plenty for that size hull assuming reasonable weight and speed requirements.

Upvote 0

effigy

Jul 18, 2007
Oregon
Name
Mark
Boat
Which one? Too many....
Boatdiesel is where you want to look for specific info on this motor. I have no direct experience with that engine, but 550 hp from an 8 liter is a little high strung, keep the hp/ displacememt ratio under 60 if you want a long lived diesel. I would think 480 would be plenty for that size hull assuming reasonable weight and speed requirements.

Good advice from Stacy. That 550 hp is probably the max. So you shouldn't run it that high continuously. Only temporary (i.e. bad bar crossing).

Ditto on Boatdiesel. It's the best $25 you'll ever spend, if you are new to diesels.