jfirey2001

Agent
Jul 13, 2005
San Clemente
Name
Jon
Boat
Old
It has been several years since I've built any rods, but I have several blanks that have been sitting and it is time to start up again.

I have searched the forums quite a bit but haven't been able to find specific info I am looking for regarding Alps XN series guides and CAH-M reel seats, I figure most on here are probably pretty familiar with these and should be able to help. Unfortunately none of the local shops around me stock these items, or didn't have the size reel seats I was looking for on hand - I tried stopping by a few. Other than photos on here and some of the builders forums, I have very little first hand experience with the Alps components - but want to give them a try.

Guides - I was about to order 5 or 6 rods worth of various XN series guides, MXN, XN (most), one set of HXN. However, I stopped by Longfin yesterday to grab yet another blank and hoped to check out the CAH-M reel seats and they had the new Okuma PCH rods in stock - I read the PCH Heavy rods have HXN guides on them - which it looks like the larges is a 20, but they did not seem as heavy as I expected. I have a GF850H and GF850M I will be building and was planning on using the XN guides on them (primarily fishing 40lb and 50lb respectively) - but after seeing the PCH rods I am pausing a bit - I plan on running 25 down to 10's on both rods (I tend to like a slightly larger guide than I am sure many on here do) - but now I am concerned. Before investing $200+ in guides I would really like your input on which series is most appropriate. I was also planning on using MXN's on a GF800L (25lb) and regular XN on GF700ML (30lb) - which I am slightly more confident in, but willing to bump up.