Advice on travel rods?

Virginia Ed

Sep 21, 2021
Clifton, VA
Name
Edward Peter
Boat
None at the moment
Hey all. Total noob here. I'm looking for advice on travel rods. I just acquired an Avet JX6.0 reel and now I'm on the hunt for a travel rod to pair it with. My buddy suggested Okuma Nomad rods but they're not available. Anyone have a suggestion?

Upvote 0

AKSalmon

I Should Upgrade My Account
  • Jul 15, 2006
    Juneau, Alaska
    Name
    Bill Brown
    Boat
    Sold my Parker. You can find me on the Red Rooster.
    Hey all. Total noob here. I'm looking for advice on travel rods. I just acquired an Avet JX6.0 reel and now I'm on the hunt for a travel rod to pair it with. My buddy suggested Okuma Nomad rods but they're not available. Anyone have a suggestion?
    Charkbait shows that it has Nomad rods in stock. I have one and it's OK.

Amadeus

I Should Upgrade My Account
  • Mar 17, 2011
    San Diego/CA/US
    Name
    Wai Jung
    Boat
    Seahawk II
    Happy with my Nomad, but if in your shoes now, purely on specs alone...

...the JX 6.0 is rated up to 40 lb mono with 20 lb max drag,

...the Saltiga's rated max is 30-65 Braid (translation: 15-30 mono) so the Saltiga is a no-go,

...the Phenix RTX-C 700MH-3 is rated 20-50 mono, so 40 lb on the JX is in the mid-range.

With the Okuma Nomad's unavailalble, the only other commercially available travel rod with 40 lb in the mid-range is the Tsunami TSTBC703H:

This one is a bit more of a gamble since it's not sold in the U.S.:

Here is another travel rod post (my reply is the 9th one down):

YMMV.

Good luck with what you decide.

Last edited:
    Reactions: Virginia Ed
    Upvote 0

Virginia Ed

Sep 21, 2021
    Clifton, VA
    Name
    Edward Peter
    Boat
    None at the moment
    Happy with my Nomad, but if in your shoes now, purely on specs alone...

...the JX 6.0 is rated up to 40 lb mono with 20 lb max drag,