Advice on gear for yellowtail.

1Matthew

• Aug 3, 2021
    Thousand Oaks
    Name
    Matthew Horowitz
    Boat
    Island Spirit
    Hi all! Im fairly new to fishing overnight boats and long range fishing, only did it once and had a blast. I love fishing the ocean but dont get a chance to do it that often. I wanted to hear what you guys had to say about possibly buying a new setup for yellowtail. I wanted to get something that could work well when I go out fishing in san diego but also for the channel islands yellowtail.

I currently only hsve 2 setups for fishing the boats.

A cheap liquid stix 7' 3" paired with a daiwa sealine 30
    A phoenix axis with a penn fathom 40N

Any suggestions on something not too expensive that I can get? I was looking at a calstar 270h-8 but I don't knnow much about the brand.

Thanks for the help!

Upvote 0

Rusty123

Yep
  • Mar 7, 2019
    Long Beach
    Name
    Rusty
    Boat
    Bayliner cuddy
    I would say you will be just fine with those 2 setups. Remember, the gear doesnt catch the fish, its the angler who does. Some guys will tell you that you need the most expensive gear you can find. Your 2 reels are plenty capable, and the Sealine has been around a long time for a reason.
    Now, if you want to buy new gear and flash some bling, go for it! But you will find out very soon that you will keep buying crap you dont need. Buying gear might be more addictive than fishing itself.

fyi- for YT, i still use my old ass squidders and jigmasters on big5 sabres, along with a lexa on a proteus, Sealine on a beef stick. I have plenty of expensive gear, but i like to carry my cheap stuff too.

How many times have you guys seen dudes with primo setups and not catch a damn thing?

Upvote 0

Pitchinwedge

• Aug 7, 2016
    So Cal
    Name
    Sammie
    Boat
    None
    Torium 16a for flyline bait and the 20a for iron work.

Edit: If I had to pick just one, I'd get the 20a. About the same size as the Fathom 25.

Reactions: bdubs73