Accurate Fishing Reels

Man Overboard

Feb 12, 2009
Ventura,Ca
Name
Daniel
Boat
N/A
Anybody fish the Dauntless reels? What are your reviews? Are they worth the $? I have never fished any accurate reels but was looking into getting the 600 and maybe the 500 for some tuna fishing 2-3 day trips

Upvote 0

BigLouFishing

Sep 18, 2009
San Diego
www.SanDiegoAnglers.com
Name
Louis Almeida
Boat
No Boat
I have been fishing Accurate reels for about 8 years now. I recently purchased the DPX500N and was not pleased to have it break on the first trip out. Fisherman's Landing had it replaced and the new one started to act up also. I don't know what to say. I have never had any problems with my Accurate reels before, but talking to other people, they are noticing a number of new Accurate reels breakdown too soon. I have not given up on them yet. Their customer service was outstanding and replaced the defective reels immediately.

Reactions: game killer
Upvote 0

DHarris

Dec 28, 2008
Los Angeles, CA
Name
David Harris
Boat
none
What went wrong on it? If you don't mind saying...

I'm looking to purchase one of the 2013 limited edition reels and am debating between an ATD50 or Dauntless 400n. was leaning towards the 400n.

Upvote 0

BigLouFishing

Sep 18, 2009
San Diego
www.SanDiegoAnglers.com
Name
Louis Almeida
Boat
No Boat
Not sure what broke on the reel as Fisherman's Landing had the reel replaced with a new one. The issue was that when any amount of drag was set on the reel, winding on the reel caused something inside to grind. On the second reel, the drag lever would get stuck in the free spool position. Then when it finally engaged, the reel handle was close to impossible to turn. Then all of a sudden, everything was fine. I am going on a 10-day trip this month and this reel will be on my Wahoo rig. If this reel breaks again, I will be sure to contact Accurate directly as a reel costing this much $$$ should not encounter these type of problems.

Upvote 0

Cast Gold