Islands 6-20 Catalina

Jun 30, 2017
Vista ca
Name
Ryan Scarbrough
Boat
Skipjack 20
4C72CBA2-BDCF-4B47-B223-E2DA897E651D.jpeg
Late report sorry.My dad and I took our boat to Catalina for the first time on Sunday. Launched out of Dana went straight to Avalon. Fished all the way up to two harbors. It was mostly about just doing the trip for the first time but we also fished hard and did our best. Most of the front side seemed to lack current and the fish were not biting. We managed to score a couple decent Bonita on the tide change under some birds. Lots of meter marks and clean calm water. Definitely enjoyed the trip and we will be back. Does anybody have island advice fora total noob? Spots, time of year, front side vs back side, whatever you can offer would be really helpful. Thanks I’m advance! Tight lines!

04681245-4485-4E7D-83BF-9268AB348722.jpeg

B33CF00C-9DF9-4410-B967-7079D6CBC9E4.png

BC86673F-5F6A-4674-BC1D-553957C0C7FE.jpeg

gettingbentwithbo

Subscribe to my YouTube Channel!
Mar 7, 2009
Riverside
gettingbentwithbo.com
Name
Bo
Boat
16' Starcraft SF SS
Nice job! Better than being at the office.

Reactions: Ryan Scarbrough
Upvote 0

mhanson59hb

Fear No Fish
  • Apr 22, 2013
    Huntington Beach
    Name
    Mike
    Boat
    2008 Trophy 1802 "Mako My Day"
    Congrats on your first crossing. Tips for Catalina:
    1. Stay overnight if you can. More fishing time and you can come back in the morning with less wind. With your cuddy, should be no problem.
    2. If you have to return in the afternoon, do so from the Isthmus. Most of the time you'll be riding with the wind/swell.
    3. This time of year, be on the backside east before day break, setting up drifts over the squid grounds, 80 to 100 feet of water.
    4. Slow troll sardines/mackies outside kelp areas to find fish. It's a great way to find yellows after the morning bite is over.