PENN

Big_Tuna_

Aug 3, 2017
San Diego
Name
Bigtuna
Boat
Parker 2310
Left MB with a really nice 1/2 scoop of sardines at 5am. Headed towards 371. Stopped on a large patty west of Coronado for yt on 25lb test live bait.
Wouldn't touch 30. Lost one, gaffed the next. Left the biting yellowtail in hopes of bft. Mistake. Got to 371, didn't see much. Located the large fleet south of 425 so went there and drifted with the fleet for 3-4 hours for nothing. Saw the tribute gaff a few 20-30lb bft. Frustrating. I don't think we chummed enough. Saw a few marks deep like 200ft. We tried sinker rigs, flyline, flat falls, nothing. Never tried 30lb test tho. I'm still learning. We got bored and left for Coronado island , ok the way we found some large bonito school in Coronado canyon we chased them around and caught 2. 10lbs. That was fun. Got to Coronado , trolled a rapala through and caught a long barracuda.

Back in the harbor by 5pm. Burned 52 gallons of gas, pretty good! I think we covered around 110 miles. Very nice and calm.seas. best weekend weather window of 2021 if you ask me!

*Forgot to add the bloodydeck photo

IMG_20210619_151601159_HDR.jpg

Last edited:
Upvote 0

SMYLEE

3 different fishermen use this account
Mar 9, 2011
San Diego, CA, USA
Name
""
Boat
24'custom
Well multi species day! Right on! Them BF are keyed in on 20/25/30lb with size 1 circle hooks... 100yards off the boat.. every time! You'll get them next time! There's a huge volume of fish here. Finally
BTW I've been gone for 4 weekends, gas in MB is now $5.25 a gallon 😡
Get it on land because it's over $6 at the fuel docks

Reactions: Big_Tuna_
Upvote 0

whosmatt

Almost A Member
Feb 25, 2011
San Diego, CA, USA
Name
Matt
Boat
17' self built cc skiff, Daft Boot
We hit the islands on the way back, too. I was in the whaler Montauk 170. Same story.