2 Speed Reel with Calstar GF800M

Discussion in 'Avet Reels Support' started by Daniel Lee, Jul 1, 2018.

Tags:
  1. Dan Uke

Dan Uke Newbie

Name:
    Dan Lee
    Boat:
    N/A
    Hi guys

I’m new to fishing and my friend is going to make me a Calstar 8FT Medium Grafighter. I want to get a 2 speed since he just made me a 8FT ML with a Shimano Trinidad 14A. I don’t plan on doing anything more than a day but want a 2 speed in case I hook up to a bigger fish. I’m thinking about the SX Raptor since I heard good things and don’t want a heavy reel.

Thanks in advance.

Jim Schmitt likes this.
  2. mcrae

mcrae More wishing than fishing

Name:
    McRae
    Boat:
    none
    Why do you want a two speed reel for 30 lb test line?

marlyn likes this.
  3. Dan Uke

Dan Uke Newbie

Name:
    Dan Lee
    Boat:
    N/A
    I just assume it makes it easier as I get older. My friend who is making my rod told me I don’t need it too but it seems cool to have. I really don’t have a good reason

4. writebrian

writebrian ... and I'm 6'5"

Name:
    Brian
    Boat:
    Whoever is Hot that week
    Save yourself a ton of cash and buy a Penn Fathom 25N. Half the price and far more versatile than an SX

Let em eat 74 and mcrae like this.
  5. mcrae

mcrae More wishing than fishing

Name:
    McRae
    Boat:
    none
    Penn Fanthom sounds about right.

6. jer dog

jer dog Fishing is life

Name:
    Gerry
    Boat:
    One that floats
    I'm Putting a Talica 10, on My 800 M
    when I use it in August ,
    I will Let Every one Know How It
    Handles School Size Tuna.

7. AKSalmon

AKSalmon I've posted enough I should edit this section

Name:
    Bill Brown
    Boat:
    Sold my Parker. You can find me on the Red Rooster.
    The Avet Raptor does cost more money than the Fathom, but it's also machined, not cast, and made in the US. Unless money is very tight, go with the Raptor.

fishkiller12672 likes this.
  8. Isaiah M. R.

Isaiah M. R. Member

Name:
    Isaiah
    Boat: