Envy115

I've posted enough I should edit this section
Aug 17, 2011
San Diego
Name
Tommy Chang
Boat
1989 Seaswirl
Hello. I haven't posted in a while. I'm a basic newbie to the fishing boat game and have done minimal work on my own boat but had a couple friends help me along the way. Besides work on the outdrive that I have to do I was told that my shifter cable, the outer coating on it was damaged and either needed to be replaced or the whole shifter cable itself I guess. I'm guessing there is an outer coating that can't be re-coated? or is that not an option? The thing is I'm a poor recently graduated college student and I have to do some work on the boat before being able to take it out this season. I have moved to San Diego and have hopes to go out to La Jolla atleast for some yellow tail in the near future. Problem is, I don't have a lot of money and am looking for a somewhat cheap way to fix this issue. I am going to have to spend alot to fix my outdrive so I'm trying to see if there is anyway to minimize on this. Is there a way to get a used shifter cable? that is just as reliable? do they go down in reliablity if used but not heavily used? I just have alot of questions and don't really know who to ask. I know I have some work to do, but I'm just waiving the flag around here hoping that some of the vets can give me some guidance or direction. The engine on the boat is an old v6 omc engine. Please feel free to reply. Thanks !!!

tony_90744

May 24, 2015
Name
Antonio Castrellon
Boat
1988 Seaswirl Sable