carreonusmc

tuna killer
Sep 22, 2009
san diego, California
Name
Miguel
Boat Name
1984 Boston Whaler Outrage 18
I will start by saying I’m new to boating. Growing up my family owned a boat but I never had much interest outside of going fishing. Since them my urge to own a boat started building year after year. So early last year I decided it was time to start looking for one. Everything I found was of course out of my price range. One day, out of no where I ran into an amazing deal in the least expected location. This boat was pretty much abandoned and dry docked for the last five years, but It had everything I was looking for. This will be a look into my adventure as I try to rebuilt it.

1093EA8A-573A-47CA-B762-5A1081D69C08.jpeg

736F429C-CC3F-407E-80D4-21BB6A34D6C9.jpeg

24EE4F57-B516-4F73-BF22-F339B585F161.jpeg

15D41D33-49D6-4177-A8B2-614371193B61.jpeg

Upvote 0

ShadowX

I Post A Lot But I Can't Edit This
Oct 10, 2010
Los Angeles
Name
Anonymous
Boat Name
None
I bet the fuel tank is corroded and leaking. On top of that, the deck is soft and went bad. You may have to cut or remove the top section to replace that fuel tank. That is why there is a 5 gallon tank on top of the deck. Good luck with your project. The Outrage is a nice boat. I have a newer 1986 model. This looks like the generation right before mine. Its a good hull design.

The damage is typical of these boats if they are used, abused and put away wet. With those government plates, I'm sure it has been abused. Its only a matter of time before that fuel tank needs to be replaced. The good thing is that its easier to get the top off on these Outrage models than later versions which require cutting out the deck. You just remove the screws and try to break off the sealant on the deck.