PENN

Eric&Son

May 20, 2019
Temescal Valley
Name
Eric
Boat
Boston Whaler 170
Been lurking around the forums for a while but new to posting. I'm new to saltwater fishing but my 8 year old is hooked. I've been reading around trying to get an idea of boats to head out on. We've done one overnight on Thunderbird out of Davey's Locker. Looking to get out of San Diego.

I'm looking in to New Lo-An and Tomahawk right now. Dates don't match up for me with PQ. I've also checked out Islander.

Seems like I can't really go wrong with any of the boats I'm looking at.

Am I overlooking anything else I should be checking out?

Any other recommendation?

I will be posting in fishing chit chat also regarding my gear setup and some questions I have there but I'm looking to book a June trip and a July trip ASAP to get them on the books.

If it matters, I'm quite new at fishing, so a crew that's good with the less informed would be good but I'm assuming all the crews are going to be great.

Thank you in advance

Upvote 0

SouthBayKiller

I Post A Lot But I Can't Edit This
Mar 27, 2003
Long Beach, CA
Name
Robert
Boat
none
With a kid I would go with the islander or tomahawk. Much more comfortable boats than the NLA. The NLA has 2 draw backs for a child, heads are up front in the bow on the outside and it has a pretty small galley for sitting down in during the long hours. That’s my 2 cents. The NLA is one of fishiest boats, great crew great everything actually, but might be a little rough for a kid. The islander has staterooms, bigger galley and heads indoors and a big deck up top to hang out on. The tomahawk has normal bunking but some of them are huge. They have a small top deck. Heads are in doors.

Reactions: Eric&Son
Upvote 0

Eric&Son

May 20, 2019
Temescal Valley
Name
Eric
Boat
Boston Whaler 170