where is the 240 ledge on penguin banks?

Discussion in 'Hawaii Fishing Reports' started by bricyn, May 1, 2012.

Share This Page

1. bricyn

sorry all im a super rookie and just started trolling. been to the banks to troll...had no idea where ive been going or where i should be going. just getting out in the water and burning gas like a fool.
    where is this 240 ft ledge that everyone keeps talking about out at penguin banks?? looked online for some coordinates but i cant seem to find anything. can anyone help me out??
    do i just keep driving until my depth reader reads 240ft?? any info would be really appreciated, wether its in reguards to the ledge or not... just any info on trolling the banks would be great. mahalos!!
  2. randay

its not an actual coordinate, it just means to troll in 40 fathoms of water along the banks. on the banks, your gps's chart should have contour lines at 20, 50, 100, 200, etc... find the 50 fathom contour line, and just go inside of it a little bit and troll along the line. just turn left or right as needed to keep yourself in about 40 fathoms of water. if you got a 40 fathom contour line on your chart even better, you just put your boat on the line and drive on the line. if you dont have contour lines then yeah, you just gotta drive out till you hit 40 fathoms, turn left or right and try and keep yourself around that depth while you troll.
  3. russell kato

Bricyn,
    I'm no expert on fishing the banks but I can offer some insights that hopefully may help you to atleast understand the Banks a little more. First, go to this website and it will allow you to view what the banks looks like...you can zoom and scroll either up, down, left or right and it will even give you coordinates for where your cursor is on the map! http://mapserver.mytopo.com/homepag....mytopo.com/homepage/index.cfm&latlontype=DMS