puertecitos

Discussion in 'Baja Mexico Fishing Reports and Discussion' started by temecguy, Jul 23, 2011.

Share This Page

1. temecguy

Going on a trip to next month for some fishing/relaxing. My buddy will be spear fishing and a couple us will be "killing" them with poles. I was just curious on what works best out there as far as lures. I have search around and found that Rapalas, swim baits, and steel works well on inshore fishing. I plan on fishing off of huerfanito Island or the surrounding water. Any suggestion on line size, other lure/bait options, rig set ups. Sorry I'm very new to fishing Baja. Thanks in advance.
  2. seriola_killer

Troll X-raps or Mirrolures tight to structure on 25# to 30#. Some guys like fishing heavier test, and that's fine, but I feel more comfortable in getting more bites on the lighter line. I don't lose too, too many lures there fishing 25#

For throwing the iron, some blue/white or scrambled egg Salas 7x is perfect as is the 6x Jr. in the same colors.

For trolling I like 1 shallow diver (4-8') and one deep diver 15+. Something in the 4-5" size.

For colors, I like green/gold combo and the black/gold combo. But I will say the Pink Mirrolure is a crazy Cortez fish catching machine oftentimes when nothing else is working.

Troll around structure. Anywhere from 15 - 80' of water and most likely you will be in a productive zone. One thing: don't get lulled into complacency by all the little fish you catch. It's just about at the moment you decide to drop down to 10-12# test that a mean-ass Cabrilla comes along and fucks you up.

Troll These Shallow:
    [​IMG]

Troll These Deep:

[​IMG]

I like the Firetiger and the Bunker patterns personally, but other guys swear by other colors.
    Last edited: Jul 23, 2011
  3. temecguy

Thanks for the quick reply and great info! what do you think of using cut pieces of squid or bait fish. Does jigging work well out there? or is trolling best bet?
  4. seriola_killer