Pedal VS Paddle

Discussion in 'Kayak Fishing' started by Adam12, Feb 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Adam12

I am a newbie and I am looking at different kayaks. I would like to here from some of you more experienced fishermen out there that have used the Hobies with the pedals. I have heard that you can pull up the flippers (?) while going thru kelp or beaching. Does this work? Are they easily damaged?
    Thank You,
    Adam
  2. sealtaco

I have two hobie's, one single and one tandem. I would not use another kayak after my hobie's. You will spend more on them, but with the ease of use and speed you will also use them more often. Fished mine today in the rain/wind in SD Bay!
  3. nmbrinkman

The pedals seem good for bay fisherman but I'm not sure about those using them inshore and dealing with kelp. There is also eel grass that you will almost always contend with. And pulling up your propulsion system to go through kelp may be a problem since you lose the ability to move out of the kelp.. Maybe I'm wrong. Either way, your going to be hooked...
  4. BLOCK

Pedals are lame IMO..I tried the outback @ LJ and hated it.. If ur fishing 2 rods and 1 gets bit, you usually get spun around and if ur not careful ur other rod ends up wrapped up on the flippers/ or rudder... I also thought it was kinda weak that it's not as "hands free" as you'd think.. theres a cheap plastic lever attached to some string that turns ur rudder for steering...they don't steer for shit and you can't back up if needed...the thing was very unstable for how wide it was and was virtually unpaddleable... not to mention i've talked to a few guys who's hobie adventures leak in a ton of water thru the steering string holes!!!

edit- to be fair I'll answer your questions.. yes the pedals are very easy to pop in and out if needed..and the are very durable..you don't even have to take them out for beach landing ;)