Going out on the 13th on the Sea Adventure

Discussion in 'Southern California Offshore Fishing Reports' started by jbthumper, Aug 26, 2011.

Share This Page

1. jbthumper

I am totally new to fishing offshore. I am booking a trip for 1.5 on the Sea Adventure 80 for the Sept 13th. I am going to end up renting all the gear (rod and reel) I see most ppl say to take 2 rods and reels, should I rent both? What tackle should I pick up or just rent it? I went out on a .5 day trip this month out of LA for bottomfish and was a little mad that the tackle shop where I rented my gear didnt mention that the fish were really going after a red jig. Anything else to bring besides the basics pliers, clothing and what not? Also what do most people fish in this time of year out there, shorts and tee shirt or long pants? I am trying to research everything to make the most out of the trip as I am going by myself and hoping to have fun. How much do you usually tip the crew on a open party boat?
  2. theclayishone

If you're renting gear I wouldn't worry about bringing anything. The crew will tie your knots and rig you up and unhook your fish, if you catch any that is. Definitely come prepared clothes wise. Bring jeans, shorts, and a jacket. Get some dramamine too so you're not chumming over the rail the whole trip. Eh, what else? Sunblock and sunglasses. Snacks. That's all I got.
  3. Ron1973