Going down to Mexico

Discussion in 'Fishing Reels' started by Bola45, Apr 27, 2012.

1. Bola45

Im going down to mexico with a friend sometime in may. Do you guys think using a low pro casting reel is a bad idea? Just wondering. Im still new to fishing. Thanks :starwarskid5:
  2. 1:11

Please tell us you are not driving down there ?

edit) well if you are be careful, more important, aware of the risks.
  3. TonyH54

Beer can with a hundred yards of 30 lb mono wound on. You will be stylin' like the locals.
  4. Bola45

Yup Im driving down there. I have a beat up car so they wont mess with me. :-) Ive done it a few times.
    LOL Like the locals? I like that lol
  5. johndtuttle

what are you planning on fishing for and where?

That would tell us the likelihood of you getting a nasty surprise with such a set up.
  6. Bola45

Rockfish and some yellow tails. Any good pointers on fishing for yellow tail? I have a Shimano Torium as well.
  7. johndtuttle

Ok, the short answer is no lol. your low profile reel cannot stop bass or yellows in Mex.

They are not the same thing that you fish for up here. All of the tropical species pull uber hard, like 4 times as hard pound for pound. Rockfish here or calicos are like wet socks versus mack trucks down there. I promise the first fish you land you will be amazed at how small it is for how hard it pulled.

Your torium is more useful and can handle most things you'll get into. What size is it?
  8. Fishmugger

Driving down? Full of bandidos ,will steal you blind take your women and leave you with no head. Stay away . By the way road is in great shape if you make it that far. Been doing it every year for 40 yrs.and only been stopped twice buy the cops and paid my donation to the police children fund. Still have head.
  9. Bola45

My bad its a Tyrno 8.
  10. johndtuttle

No worries, Tyrno 8 is a great little reel. whacha got it spooled with?
  11. Bola45

I have 50 lb Braid on it.
  12. johndtuttle

Killer. That's perfect.