Didn't sand the blank before reel seat install

Discussion in 'Rod Building' started by STxFisherman, Mar 8, 2008.

1. STxFisherman

I am building a spiral wrap rod for jigging. I just epoxied the reel seat onto the rod today and read about sanding the blank prior to the install. I used masking tape to seat the reel onto the blank...cut 1/4 inch grooves in the masking tape to allow the epoxy to flow through the entire reel seat. I did not however sand the blank down before installing the reel seat. Am I going to hugely regret this???

I built a rod about 20 years ago....this is my first attempt at building a rod since then.
  2. el capo

It wont be the end of the world.
  3. 1:11

the heavier the load on the rod, the more this will come into play. If you will be fishing 30lb or lighter, i doubt it would be an issue. If your masking tape job was good and the blank was not solied with too many oils, and the epoxy was mixed and applied properly (completely fills the inside diameter w/ epoxy no sag spots, then it will most likely have no effect. I wouldnt even worry about it, if it fails then you'll know. From now on sand, and use a cloth to prep area.
  4. STxFisherman

Thanks for the info. I did fill the reel seat area with lots of epoxy and the channels that I cut out of the masking tape probably allowed it to fill in with no air pockets.
    I hope that's the case....

Funny thing is....I'm building this rod specifically for jigging large AJ's. It's an 80 lb. blank and I'm putting a Accurate 665NN on it. If it breaks under pressure from a big AJ....I'm gonna have some fun bringing it to the boat....Live and learn I suppose.
  5. Capt. G

I have built and sold over five thousand "Downwrap" or spriral wrap here in Japan. We do not sand the blanks down (we use blanks built with many materials, from Old school glass to high tech 120ton Mitsubishi Carbon). We goove masking tape, and